password for windows chicken and the egg

Options

Help me out here. I have a long complex pw ....in order to log into the windows app I have to keep this pw in a text file. Anyone see a problem here? There needs to be a finger print integration or pin functionality.

Am I missing something here? Things were great on mac and IOS but this windows app...oh my.

and can i not create folders to keep this organized like on mac version?

1Password Version: latest
Extension Version: latest
OS Version: winders 10
Sync Type: cloud
Referrer: forum-search:password

Comments

• Jassword
    Jassword
    Community Member
    edited January 2017
    Options

Just my 2 cents: I have a long master password also - 64 characters. I have no trouble remembering it because it's a sentence. There's no need, in my opinion, to have a crazy inscrutable master password, just a very long string that you can easily remember. Even so, I don't like to have to re-enter it, so I keep it stored in Clipmate (a long-running clipboard manager), which lets me encrypt the entry with a smaller easier to type password. Alternatively, you could store the text file in an encrypted zip file, again with a smaller easier to type pwd. Both are not ideal, and inferior to having a finger print or retinal scan, but better than just keeping it plain text. Just name the file or clipboard entry to suggest it's something else entirely.

As for folders, sounds like your are using 1Password 6 which when I saw it on a friend's machine, didn't seem to have the folder capability, but I could be wrong. 1Password 4 has the folders though.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options