Convince me upgrading to v8 will be good for me.

Options

I think I've been using 1Pasword on my Macs since Feb 2008, at least that's the creation date on my oldest items. Up to now it's all been plain sailing. I can't remember needing tech support, I think I may have reported a glitch in one version way back, but otherwise nothing. I have 2 vaults, one is shared with my husband and again this works perfectly for us.

I'm running Version 7.9.10 (70910002) on my 2016 MacBook and I think 2014 iMac, with no real issues on these or on my iPhone 11 Pro Max and iPad Pro (3rd Generation). However, I'm probably going to be getting a replacement MacBook later this year and the lack of further development of v7 means maybe it's time to start looking at v8 or an alternative.

Unfortunately there seem to be quite a few problems reported in the support community with v8, and I don't really want to 'upgrade' if it's currently plagued with various glitches - has the date format issue been resolved yet for example?

Will be v8 be overcomplicated for what I need? I think when I signed up first there was only one version, now 1Password is a bigger beast with Business, Enterprise and Developer versions, it looks to me that it's aimed more at businesses than individual users.

My heart is telling me to stick with V7 because I really like and trust it, but my head is saying it probably won't work with a new MacBook, or if it does it'll still have a limited lifespan anyway.

Anyone out there a long term 1Password fan that has made the switch to v8? How was it for you?

TIA

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Browser:_ Not Provided

Comments

• Dave_1P
    Options

Hello @Sooze! 👋

Thank you for being part of 1Password for so many years! 😊