1Password extension under different Chrome 'user' instances

Options

I've been a rabid 1Password user for a while now and it's been fantastic. As a consultant I have ended up with at least eight Google 'identities' for various clients, which I recently discovered I can now manage using the Chrome 'users' feature (chrome, settings, add user). It works such that each new user has its own google identity, and can access a browser window with a distinct identity that has its own distinct settings - bookmarks, history, connection to google drive, mail, apps, saved passwords - and extensions. This feature is an absolute godsend for keeping straight all the various google docs, google admin dashboards and web console bookmarks for each client, although 1Password doesn't seem to like it. I found that I can do the 'drag to install' trick to add the 1Password extension to a 'user' Chrome sub-window (since it doesn't carry over from my primary user), but when I use the 'command - \' shortcut, it opens the 1Password extension in the primary user account window - not the sub-user - and then it doesn't interact at all with the sub-window.