Safe to Unlink to Dropbox / Vault Still on Mac?

I use 1password Version 6 and have my personal vault along with some vaults with my a friend that sync with Dropbox.
My question is
1) Are there copies of shared vaults (currently syncing on Dropbox) on my Mac HD?
2) If yes, is it then safe to unlink from dropbox without using the contents of the aforementioned Shared Dropbox Vault?

Basically, is there a copy of EVERY vault on my Mac HD? of if it is a Dropbox Synced Vault, is the data ONLY stored on Dropbox ?


1Password Version: 6.8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

  • dzkimbrdzkimbr
    edited October 20

    I have personal vaults and a couple of shared vaults that sync through Dropbox.

    1). Are their copies of the shared vaults (that also sync through Dropbox) on my HD?
    2). If, yes, so is it safe to disconnect from Dropbox without using the shared vaults data?


    1Password Version: 6.8.8
    Extension Version: 4.7.4
    OS Version: OSX 10.13.4
    Sync Type: Dropbox

  • BenBen AWS Team

    Team Member

    Hi @dzkimbr

    1Password for Mac doesn't "talk" with Dropbox.com at all. It reads the information Dropbox has synced to the Dropbox folder on your hard drive. :) So, yes, as long as whatever steps you are taking don't cause the Dropbox app to delete the files from the Dropbox folder on your computer, 1Password will continue to sync with them, even if the Dropox app isn't then syncing those changes to the Dropbox.com service.

    Ben

Leave a Comment

BoldItalicStrikethroughOrdered listUnordered list
Emoji
Image
Align leftAlign centerAlign rightToggle HTML viewToggle full pageToggle lights
Drop image/file