Master Password and iCloud Keychain

CanUK
CanUK
Community Member

I'm new to 1Password and since all my passwords are stored in one place I obviously created a complex 1Password Master Password.

Questions:
1. Is it advisable to store the 1Password Master Password in iCloud Keychain? I have written down the master password and key on paper for safekeeping purposes. However, having the master password stored on the iCloud keychain allows me to open the 1Password on my iPhone when the fingerprint reader does not recognize my fingerprint (that happens).

1. If there is no issue in storing the master password on iCloud Keychain, can you have iCloud Keychain create the master password for you?

1Password Version: 7.9.5
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac OS 12.2.1; iOS 15.3.1

Comments

• Hello @CanUK! πŸ‘‹

I don't recommend storing your 1Password account password in iCloud Keychain. The account password is the "one password" that you should memorize while 1Password takes care of remembering all of your other passwords. Storing your account password in iCloud Keychain isn't advised for a variety of reasons including:

• It increases the risk of someone else discovering your account password.
    • If you rely on iCloud Keychain to fill your account password instead of periodically typing it in then you might forget the account password and be locked out of 1Password if something happens to your iCloud Keychain.

If you're looking to create an account password that is easier to type in and remember then we have a guide here: How to choose a good 1Password account password

Let me know if this helps. 😊

• CanUK
    CanUK
    Community Member

I was planning to store it in iCloud Keychain and then turn off the feature in autofill password, In the event that I have to recover the master password, I would turn it back on to access it.