My password worked at 1password.com, but not in app on iPad or Mac

Options
ptmguelph
ptmguelph
Community Member
edited July 2023 in iOS

I have been using 1Password for a few months now and it has been working great on my Mac mini, MacBook Air, iPhone and iPad. Periodically, it asks me to sign in again, presumably for security purposes. That has happened many times over the months on my various devices and I've had no trouble signing back in again until a couple of weeks ago. I first had a problem signing in on my Macbook Air. I was trying to login to the website of a video streaming site and on their login page, "Use 1Password?" popped up, so I clicked on the 1Password icon in the username field and was asked then to login first to 1Password. I entered my password and it was rejected.
I have never changed my password and I entered it several times, but it kept getting rejected. I even pulled out my 1Password Emergency Kit and made sure I was entering the password exactly correctly. Same thing happened today on my iPad, again with several attempts.
Just now, I was able to login at 1password.com using Safari on my Mac mini with the same password with no trouble. To double-check, I went to my MacBook, pulled up the 1Password app and was able to login OK. Go figure!
So I then went to my iPad, got the iPassword app there and was also able to login OK.
So it seemed that the problem was occurring when I tried to login to another account using the browser, rather than when I logged into the iPassword app itself. So I then went to that same streaming website using Safari and logged out of it. When I then asked to login to it again, 1Password popped up and filled in my credentials OK.
But what is going to happen the next time 1Password is asking me to re-login? Will my password be rejected? Will I have to pull up the 1Password app and login there?

1Password Version: 8.10.8
Extension Version: 2.12.0
OS Version: macOS 13.4.1
Browser: Safari

Comments

• Dave_1P