Merging Multiple Keychains

Hi,
I've been using 1Password for 18 months or so across PCs, iOS, and one Mac. Somewhere along the way I tried syncing with icloud rather than dropbox which proved a mistake. I'm back to using drop box across the devices but I haven't quite managed to get all the passwords into one keychain. Is there any tool / process where I can merge 3 or 4 keychains (don't ask how it got that bad) that are mostly the same and then weed out the duplicates?

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited April 2015

@aterren9999: Ah! Sorry for the trouble. I've been in this situation myself from going back and forth on one device or another, and no matter how smart I think I am keeping straight what is where sometimes proves a losing battle!

Fortunately we've got you covered. In fact, if you point 1Password on each platform to the same 1Password.agilekeychain in Dropbox, they will warn you about a data mismatch. In your case, this is expected -- even desired.

So for instance on iOS it will give you two options: Do not merge and More info. Choose More info, and it will show you a comparison of item count, percent similarity, last update, and password hint. Just double check that you're seeing what you expect, and then at the bottom tap Merge These Vaults Anyway to combine the two.

Repeat this process on your other devices (Mac, Windows, iOS) as you set each one to use the same 1Password.agilekeychain in Dropbox, and eventually you will have a single, monolithic vault across all your devices again.

I hope this helps. Be sure to let me know how it turns out! :)

• aterren9999
    aterren9999
    Community Member
    edited April 2015