Updating a login-entry with a generated password actually makes it duplicate

Options
enawara
enawara
Community Member

I'm relatively new to 1Password and so far I like it pretty much. As a start, I installed Google Chrome Extension and then I started to log in to all of my web-sites using my credentials. Thankfully 1Password offered to save them as login-entries in my vault. Then I found out that some passwords are weak and so I used the password generator feature to update them. Here's what I basically did:
1. From the website that I needed to update my credentials for, I went to change password
2. I opened the 1Password Google Chrome Extension and used password generator
3. I click 'Fill' to populate the password field
4. Clicked save and 1Password offered to update the existing log-in entry I have. I clicked update.

However, sometimes when I open the 1Password application to double check I find that the original log-in entry is "not" updated at all. And there's a new entry (with a key icon next to it) with the generated password that I picked up. Accordingly, when I logout and try to login again using the original entry, it doesn't really work. It only work when I "manually" update the old entry by copying the generated password to it and save it.

I'm not sure if that's a defect or I'm doing something wrong here.
Please help. Thanks!

1Password Version: 5.3
Extension Version: Google Chrome v4.4.2.90
OS Version: OS X 10.10.4
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @enawara,

So there are a couple of possibilities here.

1. Let's say 1Password offered to update a Login item, you clicked update and it didn't - that's bad and we'd want to work with you to try and reproduce this as we'd definitely want to resolve that. This, I really hope, isn't what is happening.