Best practices for family emergency planning

Options
joangoddard
joangoddard
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for a couple of months now, and I want to use it as part of my family's planning for emergencies. I've read numerous posts on this forum and elsewhere and have tried to apply them to our situation. I'd like to get your feedback about how to organize our vaults to meet our goals. Here is the situation:

Wife, Husband, Daughter - all have Macs with OS X Yosemite 10.10.3, 1Password 5.3 purchased from the App store, also some iPads and iPhones with iOS 8.4, 1Password 5.4.3 with Pro Features

We're synching with Dropbox (we each have our own account) and each of us has the following vaults/keychains:

/Primary/1Password.agilekeychain

• Each of us has our own Primary vault
    /Family/Family.agilekeychain

• We have one vault with info that we share today

Our requirements/goals:
1. Each of us has his/her own vault to use on a day-to-day basis; currently this is our Primary vault.
2. In an emergency, we want to be able to access the info that is now in each other's Primary vaults.
3. My husband and I are OK with sharing our vaults/passwords with each other now.
4. Our daughter is able to access our vaults only if both of us are unable to act on our own behalf.
5. We have access to our daughter's vault only if she is unable to act on her own behalf.

Problems with our current setup:
1. All the primary vaults have the same path/name which would be hard to differentiate in the Dropbox folder.
2. Sharing a primary vault isn't recommended because the vault contains the encryption keys to the secondary vaults.

I believe we can meet our goals and get around these problems by:
1. Moving everything from our Primary vaults to secondary vaults that have names and folders that uniquely identify them.
2. Sharing the new folders with each other.
3. Making the passwords available through a trusted party.

Here is the vault setup: