[Feature Request] Store SSH and automatically open Terminal.app

amphoraamphora Junior Member
edited December 1969 in 1Password 3 – 6 for Mac
I'm evaluating 1password now. Already using it on my iPhone but the desktop clients looks nice too. I would really like to see this feature:

Under Wallet it would be nice to save SSH server data (just like you can add FTP). Only difference with FTP will be that SSH data will have a button that automatically opens terminal.app and logs you in to that server. Shouldn't be so hard I think and it would really help me. (And definitely will make me buy the product ;-))

Comments

  • NikNik 1Password Alumni
    edited December 1969
    Hello amphora, welcome to the forums and thanks for your interest in 1Password. To address your two separate requests:

    - We'll be giving 1Password's Wallet feature an overhaul that will enable you to create your own custom items. This way, you can create the item types that are pertinent to you and view/store them in a way that makes sense to you.

    - Currently 1Password can only communicate with OS X's most popular web browsers and a couple of applications that use WebKit, like Fluid and NetNewsWire. It can't communicate directly with other Mac applications. I don't know whether the extent of automation and integration you want will be possible, but we do plan to make progress in this area in the future.

    --
    Gita Lal
    1Password Help Desk
    http://1password.com
    http://support.agilewebsolutions.com
    http://twitter.com/1Password
  • amphoraamphora Junior Member
    edited December 1969
    Thanks for the reply.

    I'm not an OSX programmer but It can't be hard to execute a command like "ssh [email protected]" I think. That's the only option i'm looking for. It's not needed to integrate into anything. This feature will just make 1password a very good frontend for the terminal/ssh command.
  • CarlCarl Just Me
    edited December 1969
    amphora wrote:
    Thanks for the reply.

    I'm not an OSX programmer but It can't be hard to execute a command like "ssh [email protected]" I think. That's the only option i'm looking for. It's not needed to integrate into anything. This feature will just make 1password a very good frontend for the terminal/ssh command.


    I think this is something we can add when overhauling the wallet feature along with making all URLs and e-mail addresses links.
  • ahancockahancock Member
    edited December 1969
    Vote +1
  • stevenc317stevenc317 Members
    edited December 1969
    I would very much welcome this, as I have over 25 servers that I have to maintain each with different SSH login credentials. Would make life so much easier.
  • thekenshowthekenshow Junior Member
    edited December 1969
    Now that ssh:// URLs are handled (very handy, thank you), here's a feature that would make streamline the process even further: copy the password to the clipboard when you launch and ssh:// URL. That way all I have to do is paste after invoking the Go and Fill Form command in 1P. Thanks for listening!
  • CarlCarl Just Me
    edited December 1969
    thekenshow wrote:
    Now that ssh:// URLs are handled (very handy, thank you),


    They are? Please elaborate. Looks like I am out of the loop on this one. :(
  • insanekittyinsanekitty Junior Member
    edited December 1969
    Just tried this on Safari, and it seems to work, i.e:

    ssh://[email protected]

    This launches Terminal and pre fills in the username and server name,
    and works on both Firefox and Safari, so I assume that anything that uses Webkit and Gecko may work as well.

    I cannot seem to get it to enter the password automatically though,
    tried adding the password after the username:

    ssh://username:[email protected]

    Will try other combinations and add an update if I can get this working.

    Mark
  • jxpx777jxpx777 Code Wrangler 1Password Alumni
    edited December 1969
    This is cool, Mark. I didn't know ssh:// URLs could be handled in browsers! I can see myself using this all the time! I, too, would love if it could handle the passwords as well.
  • SmudgeSmudge Junior Member
    edited December 1969
    If you create a public key and put it in the proper place, you can login to remote systems without a password. Here are the instructions to do it. then you can simply 'ssh://[email protected]' and it will auto login.


    I would also recommend using iTerm instead of Terminal. It is what Terminal should be. It also supports bookmark profiles with shortcut keys. For example, I have cmd-ctl-I set to ssh to my ISP shell server. Since I have placed the ssh key on the systems, it auto-login without password as soon as I press the keys.
  • dimensionaldimensional Junior Member
    edited December 1969
    I would love to have 1password integration into SSH as well, especially from the command line.
  • slvrstnslvrstn Member
    edited December 1969
    A couple of points about this:

    I, too, would love to see integration with ssh, although I realize how unlikely that is.

    That being said, the ssh:// URLs get you pretty far. One issue I've got with this, though now that they are set up, is that they interfere with correct selection for auto-fill.

    I used to have just one location set up:
    http://www.example.com
    and all the web servers at example.com i.e.,
    blogs.example.com
    webmail.example.com
    portal.example.com
    which all share LDAP authentication used to just work.

    Now, since I have defined
    ssh://server1.example.com
    ssh://server2.example.com
    it presents those as options rather than just autofilling.

    I realize if I create exact matches for each of the web servers it will not prompt, but that requires more work and creates problems when I change my LDAP password.

    Ideally, the code that matches URLs in the browser plugins would only offer http:// URLs as matches and only offer the other protocol entries under the fill menu.

    Thanks again for the great software and for caring about user feedback!
  • NikNik 1Password Alumni
    edited December 1969
    You can easily remedy this. Double-click your ssh login item to edit it and change the Display setting to "Never Display in Browser."

    --
    Gita Lal
    AWS Customer Care
    http://agile.ws
    http://support.agile.ws
    http://twitter.com/1Password

    1P User Manual | 1P Sync Solutions | 1P FAQ | 1PTouch Manual | Why Can't I Sync 1PTouch? | 1PTouch FAQ
  • slvrstnslvrstn Member
    edited December 1969
    justG wrote:
    You can easily remedy this. Double-click your ssh login item to edit it and change the Display setting to "Never Display in Browser."


    Well look at that! I never looked under there.

    That's awesome! You da bomb!
  • stevenc317stevenc317 Members
    edited December 1969
    stevenc317 wrote:
    I would very much welcome this, as I have over 25 servers that I have to maintain each with different SSH login credentials. Would make life so much easier.


    Should have read the new posts better, guess there is a way.
  • Anybody know how to pass command line parameters to ssh using this url approach? Specifically, I want to setup a local tunnel every time I launch it, but I can't seem to get anything to pass through to the command line.

    Thanks!
  • khadkhad Social Choreographer

    Team Member
    edited February 2011
    Welcome to the forums, FLJeff!

    Simply create a new Login item and set the URL to:

    ssh://[email protected]
    

    Then double-click the item in 1Password to open Terminal. If Terminal is not launching, check that Terminal is configured to handle the ssh:// protocol. You can view and modify your protocol handlers with an application like RCDefaultApp.
This discussion has been closed.