How do I move the backups from Dropbox?

Options
Senemedar
Senemedar
Community Member

I don't want to keep my backups on Dropbox anymore, I'd like to move them onto my hard drive instead.
How do I do this?


1Password Version: 5.4
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X El Capitan
Sync Type: iCloud
Referrer: kb-search:change backup location, kb:ios-itunes-backups, kb:backup-faq, ug:mac/backup-preferences

Comments

  • hawkmoth
    hawkmoth
    Community Member
    Options

    1Password always automatically backs up your data to your local hard drive whenever you make a change to the data, so if you are not wanting to sync your data to another device, you don't need to do anything to have local backups. In fact, it keeps as many as 30 of them, and you can't stop them from begin created. You can see them if you go to 1Password 5 > Preferences > Backups. They will be listed there, and there is button to click to be taken to them in your hard disk file structure.

    To remove your data from Dropbox, just open the local Dropbox folder in Finder, locate the 1Password entry, and drag that to the trash. It will then also be removed from the cloud.

    As a formal matter, the sync files on Dropbox aren't true backups of your data, but I don't think the distinction is important to your objective.

    You do still have Wi-Fi and Folder sync available as options if you do want to sync your data to other devices. If you need pointers to those methods, post back and we'll get them to you.

  • Drew_AG
    Drew_AG
    1Password Alumni
    Options

    Hi @Senemedar,

    I hope hawkmoth's answer was helpful for you! As he pointed out, 1Password creates backup files locally on your Mac, not in Dropbox. So I suspect you're asking about your sync data that 1Password creates when you use Dropbox sync. If you're asking about a .agilekeychain or .opvault file in your Dropbox folder/account, that is the sync data, and you can simply delete it. If 1Password is currently syncing with that file, it will give you an error message when it notices that file has been removed from Dropbox.

    If we misunderstood your question or if you need anything else, please let us know - we're always happy to help! :)

This discussion has been closed.