autoupdate places the newly created password into a incorrect login, having the same web address

Options
michael_snapinn
michael_snapinn
Community Member

I have been using 1password for 2 years and have seen the problem I am about to report several times.

Both my wife and I have accounts at the same institutions, in example Medicare, Insurance companies,, etc.
When I log into my account in which my wife has a similar account at the same institution( same website) for the purpose of changing my password, after entering my existing password, then using the Password Generator to create a new password, then pasting the newly generated password into the new password and confirm fields, and then finally clicking the form's submit button the following usually occurs.
The 1password auto submit dialog box appears with the login for my wife's account and if we click update, my newly created password will go into her login. Even though I have updated my password correctly at the site , to correct this anomaly I must reveal her website login and copy it into my login password which is the original password I used to log into the website to change the password.
We then must reenter her password which we have written down before updating my password to restore her non updated login password.

In summary:
This problem has existed since we purchase 1password and has always been present in all OS X software, Mavericks, Yosemite and El Capitan and associated versions of 1password.
The incorrect autoupdate only appears when the login used to update a password has an identical login website for a different user in the same vault ( different name and different password from the login being used to change password but same web address).
In addition it makes no difference if either user is changing their password, autoupdate may select the wrong user if the website is the same.