Problem Syncing iPhone to Existing Vault on Windows

I am new to 1Password, and still trying to figure everything out here! I currently have a 1Password Trial version on my Windows computer. And I am experimenting, trying to get my iPhone synced.

I just downloaded the 1Password app onto my iPhone. Upon opening, it asks me if I want to create or a new vault or sync to an existing one. I chose "Sync to Existing" in an attempt to sync up to the vault that I have on Windows. I chose to Sync over Wifi. After entering in the "secret" number that is shown on the Windows 1Password trial version, I clicked "Sync Now."

The Sync starts, but...I am left with a message on the iPhone that says "Sync Problem. The operation couldn't be completed. Operation timed out." (Error Domain = NSPOSIXErrorDomain Code=60 "Operation timed out")

I clicked "Dismiss" not knowing what else I may be able to do here. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

• Kyle

1Password Version: 4.6.0.598
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Windows 10 Pro
Sync Type: Wi-Fi

Comments

• Kyleon1Password
    Kyleon1Password
    Community Member

And maybe bc I am running the trial version, I am not able to use the same vault on another device?

• Kyleon1Password
    Kyleon1Password
    Community Member

Update: So, I am now having the same problem...I bought the software for the Windows, so its no longer running a trial version.

I have also restarted my phone and 1password App on my iPhone. I'm still having the same error though?

• Hello @Kyleon1Password !
    Something in your network environment is blocking communications between the two devices. Please check your Windows configuration:

• Settings > Network & Internet > Ethernet, select the network adapter, enable “Make this PC discoverable”
    • Network and Sharing Center > Advance Sharing Settings, enable "Turn on network discovery"

Both need to be on, but turning on one will — confusingly — not necessarily also turn on the other.