I'm lost: non-techie w crashed iphone app and older version of 1password on my mac

Help! I have been using 1password for years and I love it! However, my iphone app crashed when I had to restore it from a backup and when I downloaded what was available in the app store (6.3.1) onto the phone, it would not synch with the app on my mac (3.8.20 version on OS X 10.10.3) when I tried to synch using my wifi. Do I need a new version? If so, do I need to buy it? And how do I get my existing data to the new version? I have tons of passwords and notes and do not want to have to reenter all that data. And please walk me through the steps as I'm not a techie. Thank you very much.

1Password Version: 3.8.20
Extension Version: 3.9.21.90
OS Version: OS X Yosemite 10.10.3
Sync Type: wifi

Comments

• Megan
    Megan
    1Password Alumni

Hi @mlforner,

If you would like to continue using Wi-Fi sync, you will need to update 1Password for Mac. Our developers made some big changes to how Wi-Fi sync works a while ago, so 1Password 3 for Mac cannot communicate via Wi-Fi with 1Password 6 for iOS.

The upgrade from 1Password 3 to 1Password 4 was a paid upgrade, but you get a nice discount for being an existing 1Password user. Just enter your current license information on our upgrade page when you go to purchase your new license.

Don’t worry, it’s simple to upgrade 1Password to the latest version. Just follow our User Guide article:

How to upgrade from 1Password 3 for Mac

If you have any further questions about the process, please let us know - we’re here to help!

• mlforner
    mlforner
    Community Member

OK, thanks! I went to the upgrade page and it asks for a license. I don't know how to find that so I clicked on the "find it" link -- twice -- and have not received an email. The page says something about getting it after January 1, 2013, and I got it a few years before that--so how do I find my license? Merci

• mlforner
    mlforner
    Community Member
    edited April 2016