WiFi Sync is messing up my data

ups
ups
Community Member

Hi,

I've been using 1password for many years now and I recently switched from Dropbox to wifi sync to keep my data as secure/private as possible. I was able to setup wifi sync but I am not happy with it at all:

• Syncing always finishes but the data is not synced at all. I also deleted all data from my iphone to allow for a clean start, but after syncing for some days, I have 180 logins on my computer and 240 on my iphone. The "accounts" category on my PC seems to be split to "WLAN-Router" and "Server" on the iphone. Some secure notes also did not make it to my PC (which is really strange, because I started fresh with all of the data beeing only on the PC and now there are more items in my phone?).

• I recently changed an entry on my iphone and then synced with the PC. The result is, that the login seems to be completely deleted from my PC. I really start to lose confidence in using 1password here...

• The status screen of the windows client is horrible. When syncing, there is a counter in the statusbar of the window, but because you can't resize the window, you can't read what its saying (seems to count something). When you switch to the protocol, there is no useful information for a "normal user". I would expect some cleartext to understand whats going on. If something goes wrong while syncing, there is no way to tell for me. No warnings, no nothing. It just counts something and outputs a lot of stuff to the log.

What can I do to fix this? How can I even debug this? I saw that you had some syncing problems with the vault fileformat in the past versions, may this be related somehow (I use the most recent versions on all devices right now)?

Regards

Comments

• svondutch
    svondutch
    1Password Alumni

The "Accounts" category on my PC seems to be split to "Router" and "Server" on the iphone.