TOTP on windows laptop

Options

Thanks to Ben, Frank and Laura I was able to finally get an account working. I have never used a password manager before, and there is much I have no clue about.

My particular need for 1PW is to use TOTP for an account/site that is pressuring me to use it.

The 1PW instructions call for editing the particular login, and clicking on an ellipsis (...) that seems to next to an entry labeled "section". This supposed to allow me to enter the QR code from the account/site requiring TOTP. (I will have to enter manually as I do not have a smart-phone type device).

On my login entries, this "section" line is blank, and I have no idea what it is/means/or how it gets filled in ( it IS filled in, in the dropbox example in the 1PW instructions.)

So I see no way to proceed. Does anyone know what I need to do here? I have not gotten an answer yet from Support. I'm hoping I don't have to wait all weekend.
Thanks!
Carol

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@CarolS: First of all, welcome to the forums, and thanks for taking the leap into 1Password! :)

The "Section" you're referring to is, I believe, just the placeholder text where you can add custom information when editing an item. You can ignore that completely, or, if you want to create a section to organize some additional info to the item you've created, just start typing there. It's just a way to customize the item.

More to the point, if you click where it says "new field" below that, you can paste the TOTP secret for the login there. Once you've entered text into a new field, you'll see a ... over to the right. Click that to specify the type of field you want it to be — in this case, "one-time password".

I hope this helps. I'll also reply via email in case you have any other questions! :)

ref: FVK-19234-137

• CarolS
    CarolS