About how password info is displayed

Options

I am new to 1Password - just puzzled that my original log-in details saved with Firefox extension do not display in the 1Password Login details, the original password is replaced by a new password?
Does this mean that the original password has been changed?
How do I see original user name & password?
Thanks
Colin

1Password Version: 6 Trial
Extension Version: Firefox
OS Version: W10
Sync Type: Not sorted yet

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    edited August 2017
    Options

@Colin_Foster: If you've saved login credentials with Firefox's built-in password manager, 1Password will not know about these unless you save them in 1Password:

Use the 1Password extension to save and fill passwords on your Mac or Windows PC

Similarly, if you change a password for a login in 1Password, you'll also need to do on the website itself, so both are on the same page:

Change your passwords and make them stronger

And finally, when you update a login item in 1Password with a new password, the old one will be saved in "previously used passwords" in its details. I hope this helps. Be sure to let me know if you have any other questions! :)

• Colin_Foster
    Colin_Foster
    Community Member
    Options

Thanks that is helpful but I am still struggling:-
    I am trying to save my current login details in 1Password so I can refer to them in future & also have the login saved in Firefox built-in password manager, but whatever I do my original password is replaced by a set of random characters?
    As suggested I have tried to enter my original password in a 1Password login created by Firefox, replacing the random characters displayed with my original password but this is not retained but replaced by another set of random characters- so how do I save my actual login password in a 1Password login record either created directly in 1Password or by Firefox?