Can't install (as of today!)

Hello, when I logged in this morning I got odd error messages and realized later 1Password uninstalled itself. There is no record of the program haing been on my program except a greyed out browser extension. When I go to install the latest version, I get a "access denied" error. Other programs are installing fine, and i have already disabled my virus software, changed my permission settings, and I am an administrator. Windows up to date, and it has rebooted many times. All of a sudden this program only will not install as of today. What should I do? I need my passwords (I depend on this software!)

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: WIndows 10
Sync Type: subscription

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@JerryAlbee: Thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry for the confusion! 1Password can't and won't uninstall itself, but other software certainly may. What "security" software are you running? The most common issue we encounter is that antivirus deletes 1Password's files, especially during installation and updates, so that it fails. Let me know!

• gfulop
    gfulop
    Community Member

same problem use malwarebytes and widows defender. turned off malwarebytes still wont install, access denied. ill try turning off windows defender

• @gfulop sorry the inconvenience, usually access denied happens when either some of the browsers (Edge, Firefox, Chrome) are keeping 1Password running or AV software is blocking access while scanning files. Please try closing browsers or add 1Password to exclusion lists for AV and let us know if that helps.

• gfulop
    gfulop
    Community Member

Thanks for prompt reply. I closed all browsers and added 1p to excluded list in malwarebytes and windows defender. Ran install as administrator and access denied.....again

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni