1PW8 - Missing Category view in left bar

Options
13»

Comments

• Stilgar
    Stilgar
    Community Member
    Options

I came to the community for the first time in about five years looking for this same thing. I've read the threads and I understand the design challenges at play, but I also find the drop down inconvenient. I'd prefer to have a collapsable tree under each vault in the left pane, or maybe an expanding pane...or even a list I could filter for vaults I want to see? Maybe if I could "favorite" an entire category? Trying to give you some design options here. The drop-down isn't bad enough to make me want to quit using 1password, but it has been a disruption to my workflow; I've been using the 8 beta for several months now.

• ag_mike_d
    edited January 2022
    Options

Hi @Stilgar, thanks for your feedback and ideas here. I've noted your comments for the team's review. :)

ref: dev/core/core#9299

• aexvir
    aexvir
    Community Member
    Options

the missing categories on the sidebar and the lack of 1pw mini is completely making me not want to use 1pw8
    it feels like such a huge step back on user experience :frown:

so another +1 to this problem, although it will probably not end up going anywhere

• We do appreciate the feedback, @aexvir, and we're keeping track of it. Thank you for contributing!

• Thanks for the feedback everyone. 🤗

We've been doing some experimentation on enabling categories to be added to the sidebar. Be sure to check out the exploring sidebar categories thread for details and add your thoughts and 👍🏻 if it's what you were hoping for.

Take care,

++dave;
    1Password Founder

• telephoneman2
    telephoneman2
    Community Member
    Options

@dteare THANK YOU for bringing the categories back to the sidebar!!!!!! I have just installed the update. GREAT!!

• Ben
    Options

Thanks for saying so, @telephoneman2. Glad to hear you like the update. :)

Ben

• telephoneman2
    telephoneman2
    Community Member
    Options