1Password can't verify the identity of your web browser

2»

Comments

• TouringComplete
    TouringComplete
    Community Member

Same problem here. I have a lifetime subscription for 1PW. After the Chrome update, the browser signature is no longer recognised. A Chrome downgrade is out of the question for security reasons. So the only option is to copy and paste or upgrade to 1Password 7. 1Password 7 without a self-hosted feature is not an option for me (joshAI has stated the reasons nicely). As a security-conscious IT guy, it is now time to switch to an alternative password manager (Bitwarden Premium with 2FA looks promising to me).

• Hi folks,

@varenc:

It looks like your original comment may have gotten caught by our filters, I've just let it through.

@pjrobertson:

While it's definitely technically possible to continue to use standalone vaults combined with a 1Password account in 1Password 7, we would strongly recommend against it. While it would allow you to upgrade the app, the vast majority of our efforts, from both a development standpoint and a support standpoint are focused on 1Password accounts now. We're relatively limited in our ability to troubleshoot third party sync issues beyond the scope of our available guides. Additionally, features that are added may require a 1Password membership vault, and will not work in a standalone vault. With that said, standalone vaults will no longer be available in 1Password 8, as it supports 1Password accounts only.

@TouringComplete:

Thanks for your additional feedback. Stay safe out there when it comes to choosing another password manager, and we'll be here if you'd like to give us another chance in the future.

Jack

• macklee
    macklee
    Community Member
    edited March 2022