change "open and fill" to "open"

Options
bitmender
bitmender
Community Member

I'm relatively new to 1Password, so this might already be doable and I just can't find the option to change it.

If I have a login record that contains username, password and website, the link for the website is given the "open and fill" button. I guess 1Password is designed to open a link and try to pre-enter your username and password into the site. Only problem is that I have found absolutely no sites that support this. For instance, when I click on a link in 1Password for www.gmail.com, I get something like this in my browser:

https://www.gmail.com/?onepasswdfill=00000000000

(Where 00000000000 is a very long hexadecimal number.)

About half the time, this takes me to the site in question but does not enter the login information. The other half of the time it tries to pull up the site but returns some kind of 404 error because the link wasn't understood. I don't know if this system works for other people, but honestly I don't mind using command-tab to flip back-and-forth between 1Password and my browser to copy-and-paste the login credentials. I'd rather the link just went to:

https://www.gmail.com/

And stopped at that.

I'd also like it better if clicking a link would open up the site in a new page rather than a new tab. But I can't find a preference for that either.

Is there any way to configure either or both of these options?

Thanks!

Comments

• sjk
    sjk
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @bitmender,

There isn't currently a way to omit the fil part of open and fill (aka Go & Fill).

Only problem is that I have found absolutely no sites that support this.

You can update the website field of Login items so they'll open a page where 1Password filling is supported and/or add multiple URLs to a Login item. For instance, try this one for Gmail:

https://accounts.google.com/ServiceLogin?sacu=1&service=mail