Tag contents of entire subfolders in folder

Nolan1nt3raktive
Nolan1nt3raktive
Community Member

I've been using 1Password desktop for several years and have amassed thousands of logins/passwords organized by folder into many subfolders. Is there an easy way to tag all of the items, in all of the subfolders, so that I can import them into 1Password for teams?

1Password Version: 6.2.1
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OS X 10.11.14
Sync Type: iCloud
Referrer: kb:teams-families-migrate

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni

Hi @Nolan1nt3raktive,

Thanks for taking the time to contact us. And thanks for your longtime support of 1Password. :)

When you add a tag to an item, it will show up in the sidebar. Then you can drag as many items as you want onto that tag to apply that tag to all the items. So, the part that may not be obvious is that you would need to manually edit the first item and add the tag in order for it to show up in the sidebar. Then it's just drag and drop. :+1:

Hope that helps. Let me know how it goes.

Cheers!

• Nolan1nt3raktive
    Nolan1nt3raktive
    Community Member

I'll give that a try, hopefully it will work with a folder/subfolder/items structure ;)

• Nolan1nt3raktive
    Nolan1nt3raktive
    Community Member

Doesn't seem to be an easy way to accomplish this. Here's how I've been storing secure items...

parent_folder/
    (there's nothing in the parent except child folders)
    -- child_folder01/
    ---- login_item
    ---- secure_note
    -- child_folder02
    ---- login_item
    ---- secure_note
    -- child_folder03
    ---- login_item
    ---- secure_note
    -- child_folder04
    ---- login_item
    ---- secure_note

I guess my question is, when selecting the parent folder nothing appears in the main 1Password window to select. To select a specific login item or secure note I need to open every subfolder in which they exist and edit each one, correct? There's no way to select items in all subfolders?