To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

How to merge standalone and online account? And do I need both?

Options
lecours305
lecours305
Community Member
edited February 2018 in Memberships

Hello. I have a question about syncing my accounts.

I have been using 1password for a few years now. I used to use the standalone app that you purchase and download. A few months back I signed up for the online version so that I could have access to all my passwords from anywhere. However, on my desktop, I still have the app installed. I noticed that sometimes my passwords are only saved to the desktop app and not to the online version. Basically, I see the password only in my desktop, but when I’m on my laptop or mobile device, I don’t have the same info. I’ve also noticed that on my desktop, most of the items are duplicated. They’re stored in a “vault” and in “personal”. I’m not sure which of those 2 is the online version.

Basically, I want to ONLY have the online version on all my devices and eliminate the downloaded version. I also want to make sure that all my passwords are synced so that I can access them from anywhere. Lastly, I want to make sure that from now on, any time I save a password, it’s visible from anywhere. Can you please tell me how to do this?

Thanks

1Password Version: 1Password 6 Version 6.8.4 (684001)
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:sync standalone and online

Comments

• MaxSiegel
    MaxSiegel
    1Password Alumni
    edited February 2018
    Options

Hi there, @lecours305. I'm sorry to hear that 1Password isn't working across all of your devices. We can definitely help get things straightened out, though. :)

First, could you please double-check that you've set up your 1Password account on your devices? This support article provides handy instructions to follow.