set primary vault location and sync

Options
cmbb_we1
cmbb_we1
Community Member
edited March 2018 in Mac

Hi, I have Primary (local) vault and also use Teams account.

I've been using 1Password for 6+ years. In the past, I could specify where the local Primary vault was saved on my local computer. Now I cannot seem to locate or specify this under Preferences. Where is this specified?

Today I got warning that there was problem sync'ing Primary vault. At Preferences: Sync, I see this: Sync Primary vault with "None".

My attempts to specify where to sync the primary vault -- both in Dropbox folder (which I've done 6+ years) and alternately in local folder outside of Dropbox, are met with failure. Sometimes I'm presented with "merge with existing" vault option, which I choose, but get errors.

It defaults to "None".

1Password Version: 6.8.8
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.10.5
Sync Type: Dropbox
Referrer: forum-search:sync primary vault with

ref: UUG-68294-244

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi, I have Primary (local) vault and also use Teams account. I've been using 1Password for 6+ years. In the past, I could specify where the local Primary vault was saved on my local computer. Now I cannot seem to locate or specify this under Preferences. Where is this specified?

@cmbb_we1: Thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry for the confusion! Indeed, sync settings for local vaults are located in 1Password for Mac Preferences > Sync.

Today I got warning that there was problem sync'ing Primary vault. At Preferences: Sync, I see this: Sync Primary vault with "None".

Indeed, "None" is the default for any local vault, as sync for those is something that must be configured by the user. 1Password doesn't assume that you want to use Dropbox, iCloud, etc. You'll need to tell it that.