You should remove Authy as recommended 2-FA app [Example; not recommendation]

edited September 3 in Memberships

As I am new to this topic, i was unable to post the topic here (because of containing links).
Please read the security notice/flaw about Authy program:

pastebin(dot)com/raw/K9jqXtbi

and remove it from your recommended apps.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• BenBen AWS Team

Team Member

Hi @selnomeria

Thank you for the suggestion. I've asked our security team to look into this situation.

Ben

• Thanks ben for attention! I appreciate!

• BenBen AWS Team

Team Member

And thank you for bringing this to our attention. I've been consulting with our security team and I think there are two important points to be made here:

1. TOTP is a very small component of what protects a 1Password account. So small in fact that I do not use it to protect my personal 1Password account. With 1Password, TOTP is only used to protect the device authorization process, for which someone also needs both your Master Password and Secret Key. As I'm confident that nobody has either of those things, I don't need TOTP. I've written more about this in the past, e.g. here.
    2. I wouldn't necessarily call the list of authenticator apps in our guide a 'recommendation,' though I do see how some may view it that way. The intention is just to list a few examples of the sorts of apps that can serve this purpose. As far as recommendations go, we recommend storing all TOTP secrets in 1Password, and then only using a 3rd party authenticator for your 1Password account's TOTP secret (if enabled).