As a web developer, how can I disable 1Password filling for a specific field?

I am a web developer and I sometimes have a field in a form (e.g. inside a CMS) where it makes no sense for 1Password to pop up, and where it's actually causing the editors problems to keep dismissing the popup.

Is there a data-attribute or similar that I can use to tell 1Password not to bother with that field?

Thanks,

/Chriztian

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:html

Comments

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

Hey @greystate ,

We're constantly working on improving 1Password's logic so it would know when to show up and where not to, but this is, as you can imagine, a never ending task :)

If the page contains no password fields, then adding the autocomplete="off" attribute should suffice. However, if there is a password field on the page then 1Password will ignore that attribute. The best course of action here would be to collect some page details for us so we can teach 1Password not to show up on that page anymore on our side.

• greystate
    greystate
    Community Member

Thanks @ag_yaron

I can imagine, yes :)

I've even tried with an HTML document consisting of a single form with a single input field (type=text or type=email) - 1Password pops up regardless of having the autocomplete="off" attribute on or not.

Was really hoping there was a sure-fire way, along the lines of the meta tags you can add to tell an iPhone not to detect phone numbers etc. - but it doesn't sound like that.

(The originator for this is a plugin inside a CMS so I can't really supply any meaningful details as they're ever-changing, depending on the many combinations possible).

/Chriztian

• ag_yaron
    ag_yaron
    1Password Alumni

Thanks for the additional info @greystate .